Long Term Athlete Development 2/02/2016

Long Term Athlete Development

Long Term Athlete Development (LTAD), A clear path to better sport, greater health and higher achievement. Children, youth and adults alike need to do the right things at the right time to develop in their sport or activity. Whether it be Golf, Soccer, Tennis, Hockey or any other sport. LTAD descirbes the things athletes need to be doing at specific ages and stages.


The 7 stages of LTAD model.

Stage 1: ACTIVE START (0-6years)

Stage 2: FUNdamental (girls 6-8 boys 8-9)

Stage 3: Learn to Train (girls 8-11 boys 9-12)

Stage 4: Train to Train (girls 11-15 boys 12-16)

Stage 5: Train to Compare (girls 15-21 boys 16-23)

Stage 6: Train to Win (girls 18+ boys 19+)

Stage 7: ACTIVE FOR LIFE (any age particpant)

Stages 1,2 and 3 develop physical literacy before puberty so children have the basic skills to be active for life. Physical literacy also provides the foundation for those who choose to pursue elite training in one sport or activity.

Stages 4,5 and 6 provide elite training for those wo want to specialise in one sport and compete at the highest level, maximising the physical, mental and emotional development of each athlete. 

Stage 7 is about staying active for life through lifelong participation in competitive or recreational sport or physical activity. 






Golf Star Academy, Clinics, Weekly Programs, Skills development, One-On-One, Mentoring and Training.
Golf Star Academy is located in various locations throughout Melbourne with locations coming soon nationally.
©2018 | Golf Star Academy | All Rights Reserved | 1300 372 300 | | Coach Login | Site by Doemeyn | Admin | Privacy | Policies